National Assembly approves names for SABC Board

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The National Assembly has approved the Communications Committee report which recommends eight names of candidates to serve on the SABC Board. The committee brought its report to the House for final approval.

It is now up to President Cyril Ramaphosa to appoint the eight non-executive SABC Board members.

Close to 200 Members of Parliament (MPs) voted in favour of the candidates after the Democratic Alliance (DA) called for a division.

House Chairperson Cedric Frolick read the results.

“There are no abstentions. 78 has voted against the recommendation and 198 has voted in favour of the recommendation. Honourable members, Miss Mary Papaya, Miss Jasmina Patel, Dr Marcia Socikwa, Miss Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi, Miss Bernedette Muthien, Advocate Benjamin Motshedi Lekalakala, Professor Sathasivan Cooper and Mr David Maimela are accordingly  recommended for appointment to the Board of the South African Broadcasting  Corporation. The names will be forwarded to the President for consideration for appointment.”

Listen below: