The Minister of Arts and Culture Nathi Mthethwa has approved a number of geographical name changes.  

The city of Port Elizabeth’s name changes to Gqeberha, a Xhosa word used to refer to the Baakens River that flows through the city.  

Uitenhagewhich forms part of the Nelson Mandela Metrochanges to Kariega; and the Port Elizabeth airport will now be known as the Chief Dawid Stuurman International Airport 

The East London Airport name will change to the King Phalo Airport. 

The document below outlies the name changes: