A majority of ANC branches in Mpumalanga have abstained from nominating their preferred candidates for ANC leadership. More than 700 delegates of the ANC attended the Provincial General Council where they unanimously declined to accept the nomination results announced by the electoral commission.

Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma received 123 nominations while Cyril Ramaphosa received 117 nominations for the position of president of the ruling party.

Meanwhile the ANC in Mpumalanga has reiterated its call for unity ahead of the elective conference later this month. Chairperson David Mabuza says this is the time to unite the movement and make sure it gets back to its former glory and serve South Africa. They say, unity is their order of the day and they are not going to divert from that call. About 223 branches abstained from the presidential nomination process.

The more than 700 delegates who attended Friday’s Mpumalanga PGC declined to accept the nomination process conducted by the electoral commission, which saw Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma emerging as a candidate with 123 nominations. They are saying that all they want is unity and not individuals within the movement.

Chairperson, David Mabuza says he will do all in his power to continue to forge for unity in the ANC and make sure that it goes back to its former glory. His call for unity has been supported by many delegates while others continued to express uncertainty on his call. Mabuza says he will always abide by the will of the people.

“The ANC is not immune, people can un-sit the ANC from power, so to avoid that we must forge ahead and unite, close ranks. Because it’s about the aspirations of our people…leaders come and go but the ANC will remain. I was never born to be the chairperson; I was never to be the premier. I am not going to fight for any position. Its only members of the ANC will elect me and I will accept.”

Meanwhile, at the same PGC – ANC National Chairperson Baleka Mbete called on all Mpumalanga delegates who will be attending the national conference in Johannesburg this month, to continue with the spirit of unity within the party. She says this province should continue to lead by example throughout the country. Mbete has condemned the recent political killings taking place in KwaZulu-Natal.

“We are proud of you Mpumalanga. Let’s continue to forge for unity until the end. We want this province to live by example in the whole country – we want the movement to continue to be united. Even the political killings in KwaZulu-Natal should be condemned, because they are killing the movement.”


Even though the ANC delegation refused to accept the nomination results as announced by the electoral commission officials, leading the contestation is Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, who has 123 nominations with 223 abstentions, followed by Cyril Ramaphosa who has 117 nominations for the ANC presidential post.

While for the deputy president position, David Mabuza polled 185 votes with Lindiwe Sisulu managing 39 nominations. For the position of national chairperson, Gwede Mantashe received 87 nominations, while Nathi Mthethwa got 34, with 306 branches abstaining.

Senzo Mchunu received 81 nominations for the position of Secretary General, with Ace Magashule getting 48 nominations. Now, the more than 700 delegates representing Mpumalanga, which is the second biggest delegation after KwaZulu-Natal are believed to be the king makers for the coming elective conference, needed by both Cyril Ramaphosa and Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma in order to be president.