Ministers, deputies to be sworn-in on Thursday

Reading Time: < 1 minute

South Africa’s new Ministers and Deputy Ministers will be sworn-in on Thursday by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng after President Cyril Ramaphosa announced a leaner new executive.

The number of ministers has been reduced from 36 to 28. The President has hailed his new executive being composed of 50% women. Ramaphosa also says there is a heavy emphasis on young talent.

While making the announcement on Wednesday night, Ramaphosa said all Ministers will be monitored and action will be taken if implementation is unsatisfactory.

“Our people provided this administration with a clear mandate – to accelerate inclusive economic growth, act with greater urgency to tackle poverty, improve government services, and fight corruption as well as to end state capture. If we are to give effect to this mandate, we need a capable, efficient and ethical government. It is therefore imperative that in all areas and spheres of government, we place priority on revitalising our economy while at the same time exercising great care in the use of public funds.”

Click video below: