Michael McGlynn has won the men’s elite race in this year’s aQuelle Midmar Mile.

The format of the popular open water swimming race was forced to change this year due to inconclusive discussions between the race organisers and KwaZulu-Natal Ezemvelo Widlife, which owns the race facility.

The annual Midmar Mile draws hundreds of local amateur and professional open water swimmers.

Danie Marais came in second and Connor Buck third.

In the women’s elite race, Michelle Weber scooped the win, followed by Tori Earle in second and Carli Antonopoulos in third place.

Amateur swimmers that make up the bulk of this popular race will be competing for their mile virtually, some in the comfort of their own home swimming pools.