The Democratic Alliance(DA) says it plans to institute motions of no confidence in the 15 Limpopo municipalities which have invested in VBS Bank.

The party says all the municipal mayors implicated in the VBS scandal need to be held accountable.

The DA’s Shadow Minister of Co-operative Governance, Kevin Mileham and provincial leader Jacques Smalle briefed the media in Polokwane.

He says the motions will also be tabled in two other provinces.

He says: “Today, the DA tables motions of no confidence against those municipalities which illegally deposited funds in Limpopo, North West and Gauteng. These motions are in accordance with Section 58 of the Municipal Structures Act 117 of 1998.”

“We are doing this because the DA is the only party that believes in accountability,” adds Mileham.

Click related video: