Masondo, Lucas elected chair and deputy chair of NCOP

Sylvia Lucas
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Amos Masondo and Sylvia Lucas of the African National Congress (ANC) have been elected unopposed as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the National Council of Provinces  (NCOP) respectively.

Masondo is former chairperson of the parliament’s Ethics Committee and former Mayor of Johannesburg while Lucas is former Northern Cape Premier.

Seeiso Mohai, also of the ANC, retains his position as Chief Whip.

It is the first sitting of the NCOP, presided over by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, following the outcome of the May 8 general election.