John Steenhuisen is the Democratic Alliance‘s new interim leader. He has been voted into office following a race in which the party’s member of the Gauteng Legislature Makashule Gana was the other candidate.

Ivan Meyer has been elected as the interim Federal Chairperson. The elections come after the resignations of Mmusi Maimane and Athol Trollip shortly after Helen Zille was elected Federal Council chairperson.