In commemorating OR Tambo – new R5 coin in circulation

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Reserve Bank and the South African Mint have launched the Oliver Tambo memorial coins in Johannesburg. The new coins to commemorate hundred years since the birth of of South African liberation stalwart Oliver Tambo.

The event to introduce the new coins to members of public was hosted earlier by the South African Mint and The South African Reserve Bank. Tambo, along with Nelson Mandela and Walter Sisulu, were the founding members of the ANC Youth League in 1943, becoming its first National Secretary and a member of the National Executive in 1948.

Tumi Tsehlo, Managing Director of South African Mint has more on the significance of the newly launched coins.

– By