IGAD meeting under way to discuss matters of mutual concern

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Heads of State and Government of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) are meeting in Nairobi on Tuesday to discuss matters of mutual concern according to a statement.

The eight-nation bloc consists of Kenya, Ethiopia, South Sudan, Sudan Uganda, Eritrea, Djibouti and Somalia. The region has gone for four consecutive seasons without rain leaving an estimated 18.5 million people acutely food insecure according to the United Nations.

Leaders meeting in Nairobi will call on the international community to support those affected by the drought. The region faces skyrocketing food prices due to the effects of climate change, funding shortfalls and the ongoing Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Most of these countries depend on grain imports from Ukraine and Russia. The leaders will also discuss the ongoing border conflict between Sudan and Ethiopia. IGAD has urged both countries to seek a diplomatic solution to the conflict.