IEC to conduct by-elections in four EC wards

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) is conducting by-elections in four wards in the Eastern Cape on Wednesday with 16 candidates contesting.

The African National Congress (ANC), Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) and United Democratic Front (UDM) are contesting in Ward 20 in Nelson Mandela Bay, Ward 19 in Buffalo City Metro and Ward 29 in King Sabatha Dalindyebo Municipality.

Two independent candidates are contesting the by-election in Nelson Mandela Bay and Ward 15 in Ngcobo.

Only two wards are contested by the Democratic Alliance (DA) and African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) in Buffalo City and Nelson Mandela Bay.

The wards became vacant due to the death of two councillors, imprisonment and termination of membership.