IEC registers students across SA

Students being registered to vote.
Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Electoral Commission has begun registering returning students and new first years at tertiary institutions across South Africa for the upcoming elections.

President Cyril Ramaphosa announced in his State of the Nation Address on Thursday night that the 2019 general elections will be held on May 8.

Ramaphosa says he has engaged with the Electoral Commission and the Premiers of all provinces on the matter.

Western Cape Electoral Officer, Courtney Sampson, says students will be able to register on campus until such time as the date has been proclaimed in the Government Gazette.

“It has already started in most of the tertiary institutions and where it hasn’t started yet, it’s in the final process of being put in place. We are hoping to create more opportunities for young people to register in particular, in their new habitat in the tertiary institutions in the towns where they find themselves. It’s an exciting project from the IEC and we’re hoping that the youth will make use of it.”

Meanwhile the Electoral Commission says eligible voters can still register to vote in the 8 May elections. The Voter’s roll will only close when the election date is proclaimed. Voter registration is available during office hours at all local IEC offices, usually located at municipal offices. A list of offices is available on the IEC website at www.elections.org.za or at the Contact Centre on 0800 11 8000

Register to vote in #SAelections2019 on 8 May until midnight on the day of proclamation. Voter registration is available during office hours at local IEC offices or, for citizens abroad, at all SA missions. List of offices at https://t.co/ZEwFoh0ZPq or call 0800 11 8000.— IEC South Africa (@IECSouthAfrica) February 8, 2019

Click on video below for 2019 election date: