Gordhan announces new Transnet board members

Reading Time: < 1 minute

The Public Enterprises Minister Pravin Gordhan has announced new members of the Transnet Board of Directors. They include supply chain expert Lebogang Letsoalo, maritime executive Martin Debel. Molefe and Sydney Mufamadi are the only members retained from the previous board.

The nine Non-Executive Directors will serve a three-year term. Former mining executive Andile Sangqu has taken over as Chairperson, succeeding Popo Molefe.

In a statement, Gordhan says the appointment demonstrates government’s commitment to ensure the requisite skills and experience.

“The appointments are a step that underscored the government’s commitment to infuse the state-owned company with the requisite skills, experience and business acumen.”

“The newly reconstituted board will help propel Transnet’s strategic transformation and the execution of its mandate as a critical cog in the South African freight and logistics domain, as well as a key driver of South Africa’s competitiveness and economic dynamism,” Gordhan adds.

Below is the full statement: