The National Assembly is expected to consider the 8 names of persons that Parliament’s Communications Committee┬áhas recommended to serve on the SABC Board.

The recommended candidates are Mary Papaya, Marcia Socikwa, Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi, Saths Cooper, Jasmina Patel, Bernedette Muthien, Benjamin Lekalakala and David Maimela.

Once approved by the Assembly, the names will be sent to President Cyril Ramaphosa who will take the final decision to appoint the 8 non executive SABC board members.

The committee interviewed 24 candidates to fill 8 vacancies in the SABC board. The SABC board has been without a quorum since last year.

In another development,- the names of candidates to serve on the Gender Commission will also be brought before the House to seek final approval.

Meanwhile the National Assembly is also expected to consider the report of the Ad Hoc Committee to Amend Section 25 of the Constitution to facilitate the expropriation of land without compensation.

In its report which it adopted last week, the committee acknowledges that it was unable to conclude its task of amending section 25.

It therefore recommends that the sixth Parliament should takes the process forward. This recommendation which was proposed by African National Congress (ANC) was not supported by the Democratic Alliance (DA) and the African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP).

Watch a related video below: