Elections 2019: African National Congress

African National Congress
Reading Time: 2 minutes

Abbreviation: ANC

In the 2019 elections, the African National Congress (ANC) will be contesting the National and Provincial elections in all nine provinces.

The African National Congress was formed in 1912.

The Party’s leader is Cyril Ramaphosa, who replaced Jacob Zuma as ANC President after the party’s elective conference in Johannesburg in 2017.

The 2019 party election manifesto:

The president speech:

The African National Congress has participated in every National, Provincial and Local government election since 1994.

In the 1994 national elections, under the leadership of Nelson Mandela. the party managed to secure more than 12.2-million votes, which gave it the outright majority of 252 seats out of 400 seats in parliament. In 2014, the ANC secured just over 11.4-million votes, which gave it 249 seats in Parliament with a 62% majority.

The ANC has ruled at provincial level in every province since 1994, but lost control of the Western Cape in 2009. In 2014 the ANC secured the most votes in all provinces, except the Western Cape.

In the National Council of Provinces (NCOP) the party in 1994 secured 60 seats. The ANC currently holds 60 seats in the NCOP, which it secured in the 2014 elections.

At municipal level, the ANC grew its support nationally from just over 5-million votes in 1995-1996, to 21.4-million in 2016. But the party lost control of 3 metropolitan councils,  Johannesburg, Tshwane and Nelson Mandela Bay in the 2016 municipal elections.