EFF elects new leadership

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) delegates at the National People’s Assembly (NPA) at Nasrec, south of Johannesburg, have elected their top six leaders.

As expected Julius Malema retains his position as the Commander in Chief (CIC) and president of the party followed by Floyd Shivambu, his deputy.

However the party’s national Chairperson Dali Mpofu and secretary general Godrich Gardee did not meet the threshold and were replaced by Veronica Mente and Marshall Dlamini respectively.

Poppy Mailola becomes the new Deputy Secretary general, while Omphile Maotwe takes the Treasury of the party.

Nomination process

The outgoing leadership was dissolved at the second day of the assembly, which nearly 4 000 delegates from across the country are attending, to make way for nominations and leaders.

Terry Tselane  from the Institute of Election Management Services in Africa directed the nominations and election of the new leadership.

President and CIC:

Deputy President:

National Chairperson:

Secretary General:

Deputy Secretary General:

Maotwe’s nomination: