DA gears for party’s Federal Council chairperson showdown

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Some 155 Democratic Alliance (DA) members will vote in this weekend’s hotly-contested election for the party’s Federal Council chair.

Former party leader, Helen Zille, former parliamentary leader Athol Trollip, former deputy Chief Whip, Mike Waters and federal council Deputy Chairperson Thomas Walters are contesting the position.

Briefing the media at the DA’s headquarters in Bruma, Johannesburg, the party’s Presiding Officer, Desiree Van Der Walt gave details of the election process.

“All four candidates will have an opportunity to address the Federal Council for five minutes and motivate why they believe they are the best person to occupy the office of Federal Council chairperson and on Sunday morning, 7 o’clock, voting will take place up until 8:45. Without identification, we will not permit any person of the council to cast their vote. Once the votes have been counted and captured, the presiding officer will announce the results.”