Potchefstroom will once again play host to Varsity Cricket for six days of action from January 29 to February 3 with NWU (North-West University) out to defend their T20 title in the eight-team competition.

Senwes Park, NWU-Puk Oval and Ibbies Oval will be the stage for one South Africa’s most important Varsity events.

The first round of fixtures will take place on January 29, when the crowd will be treated to a repeat of last year’s final as NWU take on 2017’s runners-up, UP-Tuks (University of Pretoria).

UWC (University of the Western Cape) will go head-to-head with their Western Province rivals Maties (University of Stellenbosch), while UJ (University of Johannesburg) will look to get the better of the Port Elizabeth-based Madibaz (Nelson Mandela University).

The first day of Varsity Cricket 2018 will end with an exciting match-up between CUT (Central University of Technology) and UCT (University of Cape Town).

After two years of disappointment, NWU lifted the Varsity Cricket trophy in 2017, after defeating UP-Tuks by four wickets at Senwes Park. NWU captain Wihan Lubbe led by example after picking up the Samsung Player of the Match as well as the FNB Best Bowler of the Match.

CUT joins the competition this year after knocking out Kovsies (University of the Free State) at the USSA (University Sports South Africa) qualifier in October 2017.

The Power Play Plus rule promises to the spark up the competition once again. The rule gives the batting team double points during an over of their choice and allows the batting side to select the bowler they would like to face.

The Power Play Plus rule also states that if a wicket is lost, the batting side loses five runs.

For those who can’t make it to Potchefstroom all matches that are played at Senwes Park on Wednesday, January 31, Friday, February 2 and Saturday, February 3 including the semifinals and the final, will be televised on SuperSport 210.