Cameroon – Indomitable Lions

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Africa Cup of Nations record

Previous appearances in finals: (19) 1970, 1972, 1982, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2015, 2017, 2019

Best performance: Winners 1984, 1988, 2000, 2002, 2017

Drawn in Group A with Burkina Faso, Cape Verde Islands and Ethiopia

Coach: Toni Conceicao

A former Portugal international, Toni Conceicao has had a journeyman career as a coach at nine different clubs in his native country plus stints in Cyprus, Romania and Saudi Arabia.

The 60-year-old was a surprise choice to lead Cameroon, replacing Clarence Seedorf after the last Cup of Nations finals in 2019, in his first appointment to the helm of a national team.

He has had 16 games in charge of the Indomitable Lions, with nine wins, five draws and two defeats.

Key player: Andre Onana Age: 25. Goalkeeper.

Onana refused a call-up to the 2017 Cup of Nations finals as he put his club career at Ajax Amsterdam before national team selection and missed out on taking the trophy with his compatriots.

He has also just returned from a nine-month ban for drug use, with his comeback matches coming in Cameroon colours as they won their World Cup qualifying group in November.

Onana, regarded as among the best African goalkeepers, is expected to sign for Inter Milan this month.

FIFA world ranking Dec 2021: 50

How they qualified: Top placed team in Group F, ahead of Cape Verde Islands, Rwanda and Mozambique


Goalkeepers: Jean Efala (Akwa United), Devis Epassy (OFI Crete), Simon Omossola (Vita Club), Andre Onana (Ajax Amsterdam)

Defenders: Jean-Charles Castelletto (Nantes), Enzo Ebosse (Angers), Collins Fai (Standard Liege), Olivier Mbaizo (Philadelphia Union), Michael Ngadeu Ngadjui (Gent), Harold Moukoudi (St Etienne), Jerome Onguene (Salzburg), Ambroise Oyongo (Montpellier), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders)

Midfielders: Samuel Gouet Oum (KV Mechelen), Martin Hongla (Verona), Pierre Kunde Malong (Olympiakos), James Lea Siliki (Middlesbrough), Jean Onana (Girondins Bordeaux), Yvan Neyou (St Etienne), Andre Zambo Anguissa (Napoli)

Forwards: Vincent Aboubakar (Al Nasr), Stephane Bahoken (Angers), Christian Bassogog (Shanghai Shenua), Eric Maxim Choupo Moting (Bayern Munich), Ignatius Ganago (Racing Lens), Nicolas Moumi Ngamaleu (Young Boys Berne), Clinton Njie (Dynamo Moscow), Karl Toko Ekambi (Lyon)