Former Minister of Public Enterprise Lynne Brown and former Western Cape Premier Ebrahim Rasool are among the 30 members of the interim provincial committee to lead the African National Congress (ANC) in the Western Cape.

The committee also includes former provincial leaders James Ngculu, Songezo Mjongile, Khaya Magaxa, Faiez Jacobs and Cameron Dugmore.

ANC Secretary General Ace Magashule announced the new interim leadership in Cape Town on Thursday after the party’s NEC disbanded the provincial leadership two weeks ago. The team will be led by former ANC MP Lerumo Kalako.

The names of former Hawks head Anwar Dramat and “poo thrower” Andile Lili were also read out.

Magashule says one of the first tasks of the Provincial Interim Committee would be to ensure that branches are ready for the elective conference in May 2020.

“We are starting a new chapter in rebuilding and renewing the African National Congress. We have men and women who are now going to drive this province. Comrade Lerumo Kalako, he is the convener of the province, which term of office is nine months to ensure that we go to conference.”