The Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) has again won the country’s general elections, after reaching the 29 parliamentary seat threshold.

Botswana parliament is made up of 57 seats, and a party with over 29 seats gets to form government.

Chief Justice of Botswana, Terence Ranowane is at the offices of the state broadcaster to officially announce Mokgweetsi Masisi the winner.

The overall outcomes are expected during the course of the day.

Masisi who took over from Ian Khama last year, will now be leading the landlocked country for the next five years.

He was challenged by Duma Boko of the Umbrella for Democratic Change, Ndaba Gaolathe of the Alliance of Progressives and Biggie Butale of the Botswana Progressive Party.

These three opposition leaders will not even be members of parliament, since they lost in their constituencies.

Click below to watch related video: