Black Coffee to be presented International Achievement Award at SAMA Awards

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Three legendary South African musicians, Joe Nina, Jimmy Dludlu and McCoy Mrubata, born in Langa in the Mother City, are set to receive Lifetime Achievement Awards this weekend at Sun City during the 28th Annual South African Music Awards on Sunday.

The Recording Industry of South Africa, RISA, says the award recognises those who have significantly contributed to the development, upliftment, and advancement of the local music industry over at least 20 years.

RISA says a panel of over 120 judges have adjudicated the dozens of categories this year. Acclaimed house dj, Black Coffee, will be presented with the International Achievement Award in recognition of his international music career and setting a gold standard of excellence.

Sunday’s festivities will be hosted by Nandi Madida and Lawrence Maleka. The glittering celebration of music excellence will be broadcast live on SABC One at eight o’clock.

Some of Night One winners include:

    1. Mandisi Dyantyi- Best African Adult Contemporary Album
    2. Die Heuwels Fantasties- Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album
    3. Dr Mercy Masakona Madzivhandila- Best traditional album
    4. Reign Afrika- Best Reggae Album
    5. Jimmy Dludlu- Best Jazz Album
    6. Pulane Maphari- Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
    7. Jumbo- Best traditional Faith Music Album
    8. NUZ Voices of Joy-Best African Indigenous Faith Music Album
    9. Thokozani Langa- Best Maskandi Album
    10. Alice Phoebe Lou- Best Alternative Album
    11. Springbok Nude Girls- Best Rock Album
    12. Shekhinah- Best Pop Album
    13. Posduif- Beste Pop Album