Bangladesh opt to bat in second West Indies Test

Bangladesh's cricket team mates celebrating.
Reading Time: < 1 minutes

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final Test against West Indies at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Friday.

Bangladesh went into the game without any recognised fast bowler as they dropped Mustafizur Rahman and replaced him with additional batsman Liton Das.

Shadman Islam will make his Test debut standing in for injured Imrul Kayes in the only other change to the squad from their 64-run win in the first Test.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim overcame concerns about his fitness to be included in the starting line-up.

West Indies replaced suspended Shannon Gabriel with right-arm pacer Sherman Lewis.

Bangladesh: Shadman Islam, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan (Capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, and Nayeem Hasan

West Indies:  Kraigg Brathwaite (Capt), Kieran Powell, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Sunil Ambris, Shane Dowrich, Sherman Lewis, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach and Devendra Bishoo

BREAKING NEWS: Govender brothers sentenced to 7 years imprisonment for attempted murder, 3 years for grievous bodily harm and 12 months for assault common. For more visit http://sabcnews.com