For all official information and updates regarding COVID-19, visit the South African Department of Health's website at

Home » Articles Posted by Chuma Nobanda (Page 266)

Author Archives: Chuma Nobanda

Elections 2019: Freedom Front Plus
26 April 2019, 12:08 PM

Abbreviation: FF+

The Freedom Front Plus will be contesting the national and provincial elections in all 9 provinces.

The party was formed in 1994.

The party leader is Pieter Groenewald

The party 2019 election manifesto:

The party has participated in the National elections since 1994. In the previous national election, the party got 165 715 votes, securing it 4 seats in the National Assembly.

In 2014 the party got 1 seat in 3 provincial legislatures, in the Free State, Gauteng and North West.

In local government elections in 2016 the party secured 0.8% votes in municipalities across the country.


Elections 2019: Congress of the People
26 April 2019, 5:49 AM

Abbreviation: COPE

The Congress of the People (COPE) will be contesting elections at National and Provincial level for the third time since 2009. The party was formed in 2008 after several high profile political leaders broke away from the ruling ANC party.

The party leader is Mosiuoa Lekota.

Cope’s 2019 election manifesto:

The party leader speech:

The party contested in the 2009 and 2014 elections

In the 2009 national elections the party got 1 311 027 votes, securing 30 seats in the National Assembly. In 2014 the party got a total of 123 235 votes, which gave it 3 seats.

In the Provincial elections in 2009 the party got 9 seats in the Eastern Cape, 4 seats on Free State, 6 seats in Gauteng, 1 seat in KwaZulu-Natal, 4 seats in Limpopo, 1 seat in Mpumalanga, 3 seats in North West, 5 seats in Northern Cape and 3 seats in the Western Cape.





United Movement Movement
Elections 2019: United Democratic Movement
23 April 2019, 10:46 PM

Abbreviation: UDM

In the 2019 elections the United Democratic Movement (UDM) will be contesting seats in the national and all nine provincial elections.

The party was founded in 1997 by among others former Transkei army general Bantu Holomisa, who leads the party to this day.

The 2019 party manifesto: 

The president’s speech: 

The United Democratic Movement won 14 seats in the National Assembly in 1994. It won 4 seats in  the 2009 elections and again 4 in the 2014 national elections.

In Provincial elections, the party has secured seats in six provinces since 1999.


At local government level, it participates in coalition governments in Gauteng and in the Eastern Cape.

National Freedom Party
Elections 2019: National Freedom Party
23 April 2019, 10:20 PM

Abbreviation: NFP

The National Freedom Party (NFP) party will be contesting in the National elections and for all nine provinces

The National Freedom party was founded in 2011.

The party leader is Zanele kaMagwaza-Msibi

The 2019 party election manifesto:

The NFP won 6 seats in the National Assembly in the 2014 national elections.

In the Provincial elections in the same year the party got 6 seats in KwaZulu-Natal.

In the Municipal elections in 2011 the party secured just over 640 000 votes, but the party was disqualified from participating in the 2016 municipal elections because it failed to pay the election fee to the IEC.

Inkatha Freedom Party
Elections 2019: Inkatha Freedom Party
23 April 2019, 9:59 PM

Abbreviation: IFP

The Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) will be contesting seat in the National and Provincial elections.

In the Provincial elections they will be fielding candidates for Gauteng, Western Cape, North West, Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, Mpumalanga, Limpopo and the Free State.

The Party was formed in 1975 by Dr Mangosuthu Buthelezi, who leads the party to this day at the age of 90.

The party 2019 election manifesto:

The President’s speech:

The IFP reportedly received just more than 2-million votes in the 1994 national elections, which equated to 43 seats in Parliament. However, the IFP’s representation at national level has decreased with every election, and in 2014 the party managed to win 10 seats in Parliament through just more than 440 000 national votes.

The party has won seats in every provincial election in two provinces, Kwazulu-Natal and Gauteng. But IFP support has also declined at provincial level. IFP seats in the KZN Provincial Legislature decreased from 41 in 1994 to 9 in 2014.

The party has significant support in rural areas in Kwazulu-Natal, which is reflected in its performance and representation at municipal level since 1996.






SABC © 2020