The African National Congress (ANC) and its coalition partners have taken control of Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality in the Eastern Cape after Eugene Johnson from the ANC was elected as the new mayor with 60 votes. Nqaba Bhanga of the Democratic Alliance (DA) received 59 votes.

The same voting pattern played out with the election of the speaker, Gary van Niekerk from the Northern Alliance.

Buyelwa Mafaya from the ANC was elected deputy mayor and was the only nominee. There were 119 councillors present in chambers accounting for all the votes.

LGE 2021 | Nelson Mandela Bay Metro elects new mayor

Cape Town Mayoral Committee

Cape Town Mayor Geordin Hill-Lewis has announced his Mayoral Committee consisting of eight men and four women. There are six newcomers to the committee.

They are Eddie Andrews, Theresa Uys, Patricia van der Ross, Siseko Mbandezi, Beverley van Reenen and Desiree Visagie. JP Smith has retained his position as Mayco Member for Safety and Security.

Dr Zahid Badroodien has replaced Xanthea Limberg as Member of the Mayoral Committee for Water and Waste.

Beverley van Reenen has taken over the Energy portfolio and has replaced, Phindile Maxiti. The Deputy Mayor, Eddie Andrews, has taken over the Spatial Planning and Environment Portfolio, replacing Marian Nieuwoudt.

Mangaung Municipality councillors inaugurated

All 101 councillors of the newly-composed Mangaung Metro council have been sworn in. The process to elect the speaker, council whip and mayor is currently under way.

Both the ANC and DA have fielded candidates for the position of speaker and the mayoral seat. Voting for the two positions is via secret ballot.

The ANC’s Stefanie Logman has been voted as speaker with 55 votes over the DA’s David Masoeu.