ANC replaces MPs, Kebby Maphatsoe makes return

Kebby Maphatsoe
Reading Time: < 1 minute

The African National Congress (ANC) parliamentary caucus has welcomed five new MPs who will fill the vacancies left following the resignation of a number of former ministers as Members of Parliament.

President of Umkhonto weSizwe Military Veterans Association (MKMVA) and former Deputy minister of Defence and military veterans, Kebby Maphatsoe, will be returning to Parliament to replace the ANC’s longest serving MP, Jeff Radebe.

Zanele Nkomo will fill the vacancy left by former Social Development minister and minister in the Presidency, Bathabile Dlamini.

The other new members are Rustenburg’s former mayor, Matthew Wolmarans who will be replacing Mildred Oliphant and Wilma Newhoudt-Druchen who will fill the vacancy left by former Tourism Minister, Derek Hanekom. Alexanda Beukes will replace Siyabonga Cwele.

They will be sworn in on Tuesday in Parliament.