ANC NEC top ten

Reading Time: 2 minutes

All the African National Congress (ANC) senior leaders who wanted to contest the top six positions have made it to the governing party’s national executive committee (NEC).

This however excludes former party treasurer general Mathews Phosa. He was vying for the position of the president alongside other six candidates. The party announced its new members of the NEC on Thursday morning. They include former ANC Youth League deputy president Ronald Lamola.

Zweli Mkhize tops the list after he received 2550 of the 4283 votes, followed by Dr Nkosazana Dlaminni-Zuma with 1975.

Several members who also serve as cabinet ministers have also made a cut into the NEC. They include Mildred Olifant, Lindiwe Zulu, Mosebezi Zwane, Nosiviwe Maphisa-Nqcakula, Faith Muthambi and Malusi Gigaba.

ANC leaders who didn’t make it back in the NEC include SA Communist Party (SACP) leader Blade Nzimande and ministers Thulas Nxesi, Gugile Nkwinti and Senzeni Zokwana.

Amongst those who made it into the 80 member strong NEC is Bheki Cele, Senzo Mchunu, Pravin Gordhan, Naledi Pandor, Zingiswa Losi and Jackson Mthembu. These are known supporters of the newly elected president of the ANC Cyril Ramaphosa.

However, some of those who openly campaigned for Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma to lead the ANC secured enough support needed to be an NEC member. They include Pule Mabe, Nomvula Mokonyane, Nathi Mthwethwa and Bathabile Dlamini.

It remains to be seen whether these two different sides will be able to deliver on the conference’s mandate of unifying the organization, following bitter squabbles in the build up to the conference.