The African National Congress (ANC) has named its mayoral candidates for the country’s metros as well as in over 200 other municipalities in the country following its Special National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting in Pretoria on Sunday.

Only Mxolisi Siyonzana selected for Manguang and Mxolisi Phakati in Buffalo City are certain to take office as these are the metros the ANC has won a majority in.

Incumbents Mxolisi Kaunda and Mzwandile Masina in Ethekwini and Ekhuruleni respectively are set to continue in office should the ANC govern the municipality with Mpho Moerane who took over from the late Jolidee Matongo in the City of Johannesburg also confirmed by the party.

Frans Boshielo has been chosen to lead in the country’s capital Tshwane with the ANC’s only female mayoral candidate, Eugene Nelson selected for Nelson Mandela Metro.

With municipal council meetings across the country are expected to convene from Monday, the party caucuses have been given their line of march in terms of whom they must choose to lead their municipality.

Coalition talks

The ANC says it has concluded its coalition discussions in the country’s hung municipalities and is ready for the convening of all municipalities by Tuesday’s statutory deadline.

The party has revealed that it has so far brokered agreements with the IFP in Kwazulu Natal and the Patriotic Alliance across the country.

Full statement below:

Prior to municipal elections, ANC Deputy Secretary-General Jessie Duarte said mayors won’t be chosen based on their popularity