4 EFF councillors defect to ATM

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Four Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) councillors in the Lepelle Nkumpi Municipality in Lebowakgomo, Limpopo, have defected to the newly-established African Transformation Movement (ATM). The EFF is now left with 11 councillors in the council.

The party however says it’s not concerned about the resignation of the four councillors. One of the councillors that have left the EFF, Rufus Mphahlele, explains what has prompted their decision.

“The reason why we left EFF is because of the treatment at EFF, the treatment at EFF is very bad. They are treating us like we are slaves every time they threaten us that they will suspend us they always threaten to suspend us, going to expel us. ATM is a peaceful movement formed by church members. That’s why we find it fit to join ATM so that they can treat us like human beings,” explains Mphahlele.