South Africa’s drought has now been declared a national disaster.

Cooperative Governance Minister Zweli Mkhize says drought hit provinces can apply for relief from a R6-billion fund that has been set aside by government.

He was addressing the media in Parliament where he declared the drought a national disaster.

The Western, Eastern and Northern Cape provinces are the worst hit.

Mkhize says measures are being put in place to consider requests for funding.

“This is for all forms of disaster, but this fund from which various provinces and municipalities can apply for this is about immediate relief. We make a distinction between immediate relief, general infrastructure maintenance and bulk infrastructure development which is what you need to go about your daily budgeting process.”