The Presidency has still to confirm media reports that at least three SABC Board members have resigned.

SABC Spokesperson Neo Momodu would not comment or confirm the reports.

She has referred any queries to the President who is the appointing authority of the SABC Board.

The new SABC Board was appointed by former President Jacob Zuma just over a year ago.

When board members resign, they send their resignation letters to the President who will accept or reject the resignation.

New Communications Minister Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams said after a meeting with the board last week, that its insistence on continuing with Section 189 retrenchments at the SABC, left her with no option but to desist from all engagements with the board.

Related video