It is not clear at this stage who will replace National Freedom Party (NFP) leader Zanele kaMagwaza-Msibi in the National Assembly – following her resignation.

The party says it has reshuffled its list following its poor performance during last month’s general elections. However, the party’s list on the Electoral Commission (IEC) website does not reflect any changes.

Last month NFP chairperson in KwaZulu-Natal, Vikizitha Mlotshwa took the party to court after it tried to prevent him from being sworn in the provincial legislature as it’s only MPL.

KaMagwaza-Msibi resigned from parliament citing ill-health. Party spokesperson Simo Mkhwanazi says the NFP is yet to decide who will replace her.

“Just after elections the NEC took a resolution to revisit and reshuffle its list and the Interim National Executive Committee decided that they will be the ones who will actually choose who will go to parliament. So the NEC will sit and discuss.”