The ANC National Executive Committee  has announced seven of its eight premier candidates following last week’s national and provincial elections.

However, it says it will announce its premier candidate for the North West in due course, as there are still unresolved party issues in the province.

The National Exective Committee was given three names for each province. It then scrutinised them.

ANC secretary-general Ace Magashule announced the list of the premier candidates-elect during a media briefing in Irene, Pretoria, where NEC members have been meeting .

“The NEC received three names per province as recommended by the Provincial Executive Committees.  The NEC received three names as recommended by the following are the nominated:

  • Eastern Cape – Oscar Mabuyane
  • Free State – Sisisi Ntombela
  • Gauteng – David Makhura
  • KwaZulu Natal – Sihle Zikalala
  • Limpopo – Stan Mathabathe
  • Mpumalanga – Refilwe Mtsweni
  • Northern Cape – Zamani Saul

“Pertaining to the North West the Premier Candidate will be announced in due course following internal engagements.”